• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Tacoma's Green Infrastructure Challenge

Tacoma Green InfrastructureThree design teams capture top awards in first Tacoma Green Infrastructure Challenge

Three teams received top honors for their innovative green infrastructure visions in the first-ever Tacoma Green Infrastructure

Challenge March 5.

Participating teams took on real-world sites where the owners want to showcase sustainable development methods.


Winning Teams

Industrial Redevelopment
ASCE Sustainability Committee, with team members from Basalite, BergerABAM, Conestoga-Rovers & Associates, Jacobs, Paladino and Company, Ridolfi, and students from the University of Washington and Colorado State University.

1171 Taylor Way, site sponsor: Port of Tacoma

Urban Redevelopment

Contour Engineering, Nature by Design and a student from St. Martin’s University.

SERA Athletic Fields, site sponsor: Metro Parks Tacoma

Green Roadway

“Keep It Green” team from KPG.

South Tacoma Way, site sponsor: City of Tacoma

The winning team in each category received a $5,000 cash prize and a trophy.

People’s Choice Trophy for Design Board

“Keep It Green” team from KPG.

Finalist teams presented to fellow competitors, spectators and a panel of jurors (listed below) that was responsible for selecting the winning designs at the sold-out finals event at the University of Washington Tacoma.

This was the first such competition in the Pacific Northwest. Similar competitions have been held in about a dozen other cities, but Tacoma’s desire for new ideas and innovation placed an emphasis on forming multi-disciplinary teams and involving students.

Participating teams included students from six universities: the University of Washington, University of Washington Tacoma, The Evergreen State College, St. Martin’s University, University of Puget Sound, and Colorado State University.

Look for highlights of the winning designs and the teams in future editions of Urban Green, online and on TV Tacoma.

TGIChallenge Jury Members

Deputy Mayor David Boe, City of Tacoma
David Boe started his own architectural practice in downtown Tacoma in 1996. He was appointed to At-Large Position No. 7 on the Tacoma City Council in January 2010 and elected to the position in November 2011. He currently serves on three City Council committees: Economic Development; Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability; and Neighborhoods and Housing.

Jim Rich, South Tacoma Way Business District
Jim Rich has been deeply involved in virtually every committee and project since the inception of the South Tacoma Way Business District. A South Tacoma Way business owner since 1978, Jim also served as board member for the neighborhood council.

Larry Dahl, Commissioner, Metro Parks Tacoma
Larry Dahl has been a Park Commissioner for 15 years. He has been on the Park District's Capital Improvement Committee for ten years. He also served on the City Council for one year. Larry worked for the City of Auburn's Engineering Department for 45 years and the last 30 years as Construction Manager.

Bill Moore, Department of Ecology
Bill Moore has worked for the Department of Ecology for 27 years. During his tenure at Ecology, Bill’s focus has been water quality protection. Bill is currently responsible for overseeing the development of Ecology’s stormwater program including the stormwater technical manuals, LID standards and training and stormwater permits.

Kent Arola, President of the MBA of Pierce County
Kent Arola is the current president of the Master Builders Association of Pierce County. Kent is also a real estate agent for the beautiful Wind River Homes.

Dakota Chamberlain, Port of Tacoma
Dakota Chamberlain is the Port of Tacoma’s Chief Development Officer.  Dakota oversees all of the planning, engineering and environmental programs.

Project Partners

City of Tacoma logo Center for Urban Waters logo Port of Tacoma logo University of Washington Tacoma logoMetro Parks Tacoma logo