• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

2020 Historic Preservation Awards

Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission Seeks Nominations for the 2020 Historic Preservation Awards


Feb. 27, 2020



Lauren Hoogkamer, Planning and Development Services, lhoogkamer@cityoftacoma.org, (253) 591-5254


Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission is seeking nominations for the 2020 Historic Preservation Awards

The Tacoma Landmarks Preservation Commission is accepting nominations for the 2020 Historic Preservation Awards.

The awards celebrate the best in preservation projects and programming in seven categories. The categories include:

  • Residential Renovation
  • Commercial Renovation
  • Leadership in Preservation
  • Organization(s) in Preservation
  • Community Engagement/Events
  • Landmark Nomination, Broadening Perspectives (awareness of under-documented or represented historical narratives)
  • Heritage/Legacy Businesses

Nominations can be submitted for consideration through Google Forms through Wednesday, April 22. 2020.


“These awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge the historic preservation efforts that are important to our community,” said Lauren Hoogkamer, Assistant Historic Preservation Officer.

The awards ceremony and reception will be on Thursday, May 28 from 6-8 p.m. at Point Defiance Pagoda (5801 Trolley Ln). The event is free and open to the public. Historian Melissa McGinnis will give a keynote presentation on the history of Tacoma’s parks. Light refreshments will be provided.

For more information, contact Assistant Historic Preservation Officer Lauren Hoogkamer at lhoogkamer@cityoftacoma.org or (253) 591-5254.