• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Applicants Sought for the Transportation Commission

Applicants Sought for the Transportation Commission


January 2, 2019



Jennifer Kammerzell, Staff Liaison, JKammerzell@cityoftacoma.org, (253) 591-5511


Applicants Sought for the Transportation Commission

The Tacoma City Council is looking to fill one position on the Transportation Commission to serve an unexpired term in District No. 4.

The Transportation Commission advises the City Council on transportation-related matters, such as short-term and long-range transportation planning, compliance with local, regional and federal transportation regulations, bike, pedestrian and mass transit-related planning initiatives, and parking and capital improvement plans. Commission members are recommended by the Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee and appointed by the City Council.

The Commission consists of 11 members - nine voting members appointed by the City Council, with representatives from each of the City’s five Council Districts, who bring a range of perspectives and expertise that focus on the City’s long-term vision for mobility options throughout the City, and two non-voting members appointed by the City Manager. 

It is recommended that the members appointed reflect the following categories of special interest/discipline: professional engineering sector, construction/private business sector, bike and pedestrian/mass transit sector, planning/urban growth sector, environmental/sustainability sector, general community, and ADA community. 

Commission meetings occur the third Wednesday of each month at 5:30 PM. For additional information on the Transportation Commission, please visit their website. All members must be Tacoma residents. If your Council District is unknown, please visit govme.org

Applications must be submitted to the City Clerk’s Office by Wednesday, January 16, 2019. To apply, visit cityoftacoma.org/cbcapplication or contact Jessica Jenkins at (253) 591-5178, servetacoma@cityoftacoma.org, or the City Clerk’s Office, Room 11, Tacoma Municipal Building North, 733 Market St., Tacoma, WA 98402.